Archive for January 23rd, 2007

Stay to the Left, Dummy!

I had a discovery last night. For the past week or so, my right foot has been feeling strange at night. I am not sure how to describe it exactly…it felt swollen even though it did not look swollen, had a tingling feeling. Anyway, through trial and error, I finally figured out that it was because I was spending too much time sleeping on my right side. My OB had told me back around week 20 that I needed to sleep on my side. That sleeping on my left side was better due to the placement of a major artery located to the right of my spine that delivers blood to the lower half of my body, but that if I did sleep on the right side it wasn’t that big of a deal. Well, apparently it is. I was laying on my right side watching TV last night and that weird foot thing started happening. So I moved to my left side and within a few minutes it went away. I’m embarrassed that it took me this long to figure out what the problem has been.

So anyway, I got a good night’s sleep. Aside from not dealing with the foot thing, I only had to go to the bathroom twice all night. That has to be a first! What a difference sleep makes! I woke up this morning feeling great.

Everything with this pregnancy seems to be going good lately…my glucose numbers are back under control again, the babies are kicking with regularity, my energy levels are back to normal thanks to the iron supplement, the mystery of the numb foot has been solved, and it’s almost a week since I’ve had any pre-term contractions. I hope I’m not jinxing myself by even mentioning all of this, but things seem to be stable. My next OB appointment is Thursday and I hope he tells me the same thing.

Mark is leaving to go out-of-town for two days tomorrow. I plan on having yet another boring day doing laundry and finishing my baby shower thank you notes. Pretty exciting, eh?


January 2007
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Snapshots

What You’ve Missed So Far