Archive for February 1st, 2007

Hospital Day 2…Better Day

Today was a good day medically. My lab results came back pretty good. My blood pressure is still high but is stablizing and slowly coming down. The babies are moving more and more, and the monitors attached to my belly indicate perfect heart rates for them…and no contractions! I was able to take a shower for the first time. Let me tell ya, it was the BEST damn shower of my life…even though my forearms were covered in plastic to protect all of my tubes, IV, etc. They put an egg crate thing on my bed that has made it more comfortable. The meals are still ridiciously small, bland and overall yucky. For breakfast, I got ONE fake scrambled egg and 1/4 cup of oatmeal. That’s it. That’s not much food, and my mom snuck me in some cheese and crackers. The nurse apologized and said the food folks messed up. Lunch was better, but not by much. My swelling has gone down and I lost 3 lbs in water weight since yesterday.

Right now it’s all about taking it day by day. My new short term goal is making it to 32 weeks…which would be right before Valentine’s Day.

Mark and I took a tour of the NICU this afternoon. It was nice to go for a spin in the wheelchair and get out of the room, but seeing the babies in the NICU was hard. Unless you’ve actually seen what a 29-week baby looks like in person, you can’t relate. Seton’s NICU is the best in Austin and one of the best in Texas, but it was still upsetting. I came back to the room and had a good cry. Every week I keep them in my belly does a world of good, and I am willing to do anything I have to do…even if it means staying here.

If things remain stable, we may talk to the docs about letting me hire an at-home nurse if they let me out of here this weekend. Mark could work from home and keep an eye on me too. Unless there is a big change, Mom is going back to Houston on Sunday. I miss my dogs. I miss my king-size bed. I miss good food. I missy my stuff. I miss watching more than just basic cable. But we will just have to see what’s best for the babies and me.


February 2007
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Snapshots

What You’ve Missed So Far