Weekend in Dallas, Part 2

SATURDAY

We hung out at my friend Amanda’s house for about 3 hours before heading out to Colin’s birthday party.

Amanda and I have been very good friends since our days as little hell raisers in junior high Catholic School. I wish I would have had more time to hang out with her, but it was a hectic weekend. I hope she didn’t feel like she was just ‘Hotel de Amanda.’ I keep begging her to come down to Austin, and I know she is coming in early November to go to a Kathy Griffin show with me.

Colin’s 1st birthday party was awesome. It was held at Colin’s grandmother’s beautiful house…that had a patio and view I would kill for! It was so nice. I must say that Chalna planned everything perfectly. Usually there is always a major mishap at kiddie parties, but not at this one. Every thing looked wonderful, everything tasted wonderful, and everyone had a good time.

And she timed it right. We made the mistake of having the twins’ 1st birthday party at 1 PM (i.e., nap time). So Kate slept through half of her own party, and then woke up a groggy head who wasn’t too pleased to wake up to find a bunch of people in her house taking her photo. Lesson learned. Colin’s party was at 4 PM…brilliant.

One of the highlights for me was getting to see Chalna’s mom. Her mom was my senior AP Honors English teacher in high school, and I absolutely loved her. She was the one and only teacher that truly made a lasting impact on my life. She was supportive, she encouraged my writing, she was a mentor. I’ve often thought of her through the years, and it was awesome getting to see her again.

Carson was…well…a bit of a nightmare at the party. He was painfully shy and held onto Mark for dear life. At times (when other people weren’t around), he warmed up a little and played with some of Colin’s gifts. In this regard, Kate and Carson are polar opposites. Kate was a social butterfly, and I’m not totally convinced that she understood the party wasn’t for her. The girl never meets a stranger.

 

The birthday boy, Colin, chowing down on his birthday cake.

 Mark and Kate at the party. I love this photo of them.

 When the birthday boy wasn’t looking, Kate took his cool new car out for a “spin.”

Kate & Carson checking out all of Colin’s new toys.

 The kiddie dining section. Kate, Hunter, and birthday boy Colin festing on some hot dog and chips. Carson was sitting on Mark’s lap and didn’t want to join the group.

1 Response to “Weekend in Dallas, Part 2”


  1. 1 Chalna Trawick July 22, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    Seeing you again was a joy. I remember you, Shannon. Silence, the unknown, and misunderstanding’s impact creates such a frightening place to exist until words spiral into beautiful relationships manipulated only by an artist who is so attuned to their effect on the human psyche that as they fall across the brain’s cognitive image, a smile, a laugh, a wondering, a new need, a happy face, another world visited, a now I understand enters the forever world of a man, a woman, little girl, boy, a child and helps to remove those fears of existence. You do that artist, writer. You always seemed aware of the impact; you always seemed to have a love story with the words. The mother of twins; we share a bond known only by those who live it. I would wish that Christmas morning for all special people like you! You do it so beautifully. You make it look much easier than I did. I love your blog. Never lose your love of the words that can change lives.–and don’t blink; it all moves faster than it feels. Breathe in every tiny minute of it. Chalna Sr.


Leave a Reply

