Archive for April 30th, 2008

Hump Day

I know I haven’t been blogging as often as I have in the past. I don’t know what’s gotten into me. I guess I just feel like I don’t have anything to say. Not much is happening in our little world right now.

[Before I get emails on this post, let me just clarify that I have no intention on just abandoning my blog like so many others are doing right now. I love my blog and consider it a future gift for the twins once I print it out. Plus, it often keeps me sane and serves as my memory at times.]

The twins are doing wonderfully. This is honestly my favorite age so far. They are sleeping through the night, we are on a good schedule that seems to work for everyone, we are beyond the ear infections, we are in a much needed teething break, cold season is over and the clogged tear duct is ancient history. They are happy, growing fast, laughing all the time, and remind me a lot of frolicking puppies at this stage.

As much and as intense as they can sometimes fight, no one can make Kate laugh the way Carson does. I can’t remember a day that has gone by that I didn’t catch the twins having some private giggle-fest. For the life of me, I don’t see what’s so funny to them, but they will laugh and laugh for the longest time.

They have also started talking and playing together more this week. The playing part often ends in a fight, but at least the beginning part is good. The concept of sharing is still a long way off for them.

My back is doing much better this week. I would say I’m 95% back to normal. It is still stiff in the mornings and I can get sore if I sit too long, but life has gotten better now that I am not in constant pain.

I’ve been busy working around the house this week. I’ve started painting the kitchen, and plan on finishing it completely tomorrow while the kiddos are at Miss Jennifer’s. I love the color and will post photos once everything is done.

I have the whole month of May to get as much done as possible because as of June 1st I will no longer have twin-less time. This summer the twins will not be going to Jennifer’s house on the same day. It’s a long story, but essentially Jennifer is watching a new baby for the summer and there is a certain number of babies she is legally allowed to watch at the same time. Anyway. Kate will be going on Mondays and Wednesdays; Carson on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

On the one hand this completely sucks for me! I look forward to my Tuesdays and Thursday without the twins. I’m sure that makes me sound like a bad mom, but judge only after you’ve been in my shoes for a few days. I always have a list a mile long of everything I need to get knocked out on those two days — laundry, cleaning, errands, shopping, painting the house, take a nap if I want to, etc. So for the summer I will always have at least one of the tots with me, and I’m worried about how I am going to get everything else done.

I’m trying to look on the bright side though. This will give me an opportunity (which I think is becoming more and more needed at this age) to have some one-on-one time. It will also allow me to take each tot to social things that would otherwise be almost impossible for me to do with both of them at the same time — like swim lessons, music classes, Children’s Museum Toddler Days, story reading at the library, etc. I am going to try to make it as fun as possible for all of us.

 


April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Snapshots

What You’ve Missed So Far