Archive for March 20th, 2008

Spring-A-Ding-Ding

Ever since my return from Houston on Monday, I have been in full-blown cleaning and organizing mode. I tend to get like that around this time of year. I suffer from true spring cleaning.

Currently my house is the cleanest it’s ever been. Usually I have a mound of laundry, but everything is cleaned…and put up! In fact, I went so far as to wash all of the bath mats in the house because I figured my washer and dryer were having withdrawals.

Now that everything is clean, I am onto organizing. The two main areas are the pantry and our master closet. They are truly horrible. To prove how horrible they are (and to peer pressure myself to actually do something about it) I am  posting these embarrassing photos for the world to see.

Exhibit A…the pantry from hell

I find it strange that a 3,000 square foot house has such a tiny pantry, but it does. It is a total nightmare, and I need to organize it.

Exhibit B…the master bedroom closet from hell

When we moved into our house last May, the twins were only 3 months old. So I obviously did not have the time to organize the closet while we were unpacking. We just tossed everything in and tried get a few hours of sleep. Now that life is more normal, it’s time to deal with this disaster zone. We have so much that needs to be sold or donated. It seems like most of my clothes are work clothes from another life. All I need now are my comfy yoga pants (a mom standard), an over-sized t-shirt and some flip flops. 🙂

I also am planning on finishing the painting in our master bathroom. Our big ladder would not fit in the shower, so I was unable to get the top section.

 

I HATE the Broadway lights above the vanities. They really bug me. I have already picked out their cool replacements, but I won’t be able to buy them until next month (damn budget). I also have the window treatments, mirror frames, wall decor and new towels picked out too. I will post the finished product in a month or two…or whenever this gets done.

It took some getting used to the color*, but now we like it. The bathroom was just so white and so typical. I wanted to use a darker color and warm the room up. I think every bathroom in our suburban neighborhood looks exactly like ours.

The twins are doing great. They both had A+ days at Miss Jennifer’s this week. I am loving our new bedtime routine. It has made our adult life 10 times better. At 7:30 PM the twins go to bed. Carson never puts up a fight, and Kate limits hers to about 5 minutes. Often we can hear her talking to herself on the baby monitor and then finally going to sleep.

They are waking up at 6:30 AM like clockwork. Carson usually sleeps through the night, and Kate usually gets up around midnight. I have been just holding her on the gameroom sofa for about 10 minutes and then she is back to sleep. She hasn’t slept with me since Houston.

I can live with this schedule.

We have big plans this weekend and into next week. My mom is coming in for a visit on Easter Sunday and will be staying until Wednesday. When the twins go to Jennifer’s on Tuesday, we are having a mother-daughter day — out to lunch, hair cuts, mani/pedi, etc. I can’t wait!

I think we will probably be getting together with my aunts, uncles and cousins too. That’s always a lot of fun!

* “Toffee Crunch” by Behr


March 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Snapshots

What You’ve Missed So Far